“Every Turn a Surprise…”

It’s a new year…officially. It’s Monday, and the weekend is finally behind us along with the first week of school, or as I call it “Syllabi and get-to-know-you” week. Indeed, especially for Drama Class, the days in that first half-week tend to lend themselves to an almost “and these are the rules” type atmosphere. As a high school student myself I remember loathing the first week of school (which was odd because I loved school)…but I guess it was the starting over part that bugged me. I had a pretty good routine wandering the halls of Tecumseh High School…home of the Indians….er, excuse me, Warrirors. (Ah, it’s a PC world we live in.)
I’m excited about my classes. Good kids, every one of them. Everyoneseems to be enthusiastic…and why not! We’ve got a new drama classroom…costume room, scene shop, dressing rooms and a 804 seat Auditiorium that will be used for the FIRST time this year. Even non-drama peeps are like, “dang.”

The school in general has had a facelift of sorts. We implanted teh new Chapel / Performing Arts Center in the center of campus, (you can’t miss it.) The Student Center was injected with a new kitchen staff and Head Chef…who is awesome by the way. (No offense to Chef Tony…who is STILL the man! Love ya, Chef.) The Tuna Melt was to die for…and those students who scoffed that lovely offering are just mad that they didn’t get their Choco Taco fast enough.

We’ve got a new Golf Chipping and Putting Practice Green. (I mean, c’mon…who has that!) They’ve even put a fence around the thing to keep the artificial turf nice and neat…and to keep half of the male faculty off the green during prep periods. (I was tempted.)

The Football Field is celebrating the second year with a Press Box…We have a brand new Dance Studio for dance classes, the Resource room and Computer Depts. now have their own spaces….sheesh. It’s like Extreme Make-Over: Faith Edition!

We’re blessed.

What a way to spend the day, I tell ya. I wake up, shower, grab a cuppa Joe and head over to Faith Lutheran…the exception to the everyday high school education. I sit across from students and I’m able to speak about the grace and love of our Lord….I get to watch as young hopefuls succeed onstage. I get to rub elbows with bright, friendly, loving colleagues. I get to worship with 1000 young adults every week. I get to poke my head in to my wife’s classroom and say “hi” anytime I want. Shoot….next time I’m complaing about the copier being jammed, kick me. They say to count your blessings. It’s hard.

I’m blessed in so many differnt ways. As I sit here, my wife is driving back from her first class in her doctorate program. (Dang…how did I hook up with a chick like that? Poor smug kid from da hood. Shoot.) I’m so proud of her. She’s everything I want to be in a teacher and everything I’m not. Every year that I look back at my classes and accomplishments, I review how things went and try to get a grip on what could have gone better. My wife’s teaching career just keeps getting better and better, and her kids love her. They learn so much in her class and I couldn’t be more proud.

I look forward to this evening. I’m heading off shortly to Beauty and the Beast callbacks with Signature Productions. For those of you who didn’t catch the show at Spring Mountain Valley Ranch this summer….whooooo! What an experience. I’m so thankful for the amazing cast, caring directors and supportive wife that made that possible. What a treat, I felt I learned so much. Due to its popularity, they re bringing the show back by popular demand for 22 more shows in Oct. and November. I get to strap on GASTON’S boots again! Yee-haw!

The auditions are for those cast memebrs not returning, and a padded chorus/ensemble they are adding. A few of my students are going to be there. I hope they make it. How cool would it be to actually work onstage with them. Talk about a good mentoring opportunity.

There is a way to look at all that is happening and think to yourself, “look at all I have to do.” Instead I choose to look and the laundry in the basket that needs folding and the grass that needs mowing and think…rock on. This year….BRING IT. I’m ready. Are you? REgardless of whether or not you are, it’s going to come…and when your schedule is full, and you take two steps back and think to yourself “look at all this stuff I have to do”…just remember, those “stuffs” are all blessings. Thanks be to God!

One Response to ““Every Turn a Surprise…””

  1. Howdy! This article couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He continually kept preaching about this. I will forward this information to him. Fairly certain he’s going to have a great read.
    I appreciate you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

